Sihai network

What is the meaning of the number of Buddha beads? What is the meaning of 108 Buddha beads

What is the meaning of the number of Buddha beads? What is the meaning of 108 Buddha beads we all know that there are long and short Buddha beads. Careful friends will count how many Buddha beads they have, usually 108 long, 54 short, 42 short, etc. What is the meaning of the number of Buddha beads? What does 108 Buddha beads mean? Let's have a look.

The number of Buddha beads is outlined as follows:


108 is the most common number. In order to prove the hundred and eight samadhi, 108 kinds of troubles are removed, so that the body and mind can reach a state of silence.

108. There are many different views on the content of troubles. Generally speaking, the six roots have pain, happiness and giving up three kinds of suffering, which are combined into 18 kinds; There are six kinds of good, evil and peace, which are combined into 18 kinds and 36 kinds. Combined with the past, present and future generations, they are combined into 108 kinds of troubles.

According to the theory of Tiantai Sect, all the ten realms are good and evil, so the number of 10810 means that there are 108 kinds of troubles in each of the ten realms, resulting in 1080 kinds of troubles. " The ten realms' represent the whole world of mystery and enlightenment, namely: 1. Hell, 2. Hungry ghost, 3. Animal, 4. Shura, 5. Human, 6. Heavenly, 7. Sound and news, 8. Fate, 9. Bodhisattva, 10. Buddha.

Fifty four

It represents the fifty-four positions of Bodhisattva in the process of practice, including ten beliefs, ten dwellings, ten elements, ten directions, ten places and fifty levels, plus four good roots. They are described as follows:

Ten beliefs: 1. Confidence, 2. Mindfulness, 3. Diligence, 4. Wisdom, 5. Concentration, 6. Dharma care, 7. Return, 8. Caution, 9. Give up, 10. Wish.

Ten dwellings: 1. The initial heart dwells, 2. Governing the land, 3. The practice dwells, 4. Living expensive, 5. It is convenient to have enough dwellings, 6. The positive heart dwells, 7. Don't retreat, 8. The innocence dwells, 9. The prince of Dharma dwells, 10. Filling.

Ten elements: 1. Joyful action, 2. Rao Yixing, 3. No hatred action, 4. Endless action, 5. Leaving madness and chaos action, 6. Good action, 7. No action, 8. Respecting action, 9. Good Dharma action, 10. True action.

Ten directions: 1. Rescue all sentient beings from all sentient beings, 2. Not bad, 3. Wait for all Buddha directions, 4. Go to all places, 5. Endless merit collection directions, 6. Follow the equal and good root directions, 7. Follow the equal and good root directions of all sentient beings, 8. Like the phase directions, 9. No binding and no liberation directions, 10. Boundless directions of the Dharma Realm.

Ten places: 1. Joyful place, 2. Dirt free place, 3. Luminous place, 4. Flame wise place, 5. Difficult resort, 6. Present place, 7. Distant place, 8. Immovable place, 9. Good and wise place, 10. Fayun place.

Four good roots: refer to the four levels of practice before seeing the Tao, observing the four truths and practicing the sixteen elements to achieve the holy position without leakage, including: 1. Warm position, 2. Top position, 3. Forbearance position, and 4. The first Dharma position in the world.

Forty two

It represents the forty-two levels of Bodhisattva's practice process, namely, ten dwell, ten elements, ten return, ten earth, equal consciousness and wonderful consciousness.

Thirty six

There is no exact meaning. It is generally believed that it is convenient to carry, so it is divided into 38 out of 108, which contains the principle of seeing the big from the small, so it is the same as 108.

Twenty seven

It represents the twenty-seven sages of the four directions and four fruits of Mahayana practice, that is, the "Eighteen learning" of the first four directions and three fruits and the "nine non learning" of the fourth arahango.

18. Learning: 1. Follow the faith, 2. Follow the Dharma, 3. Understand the faith, 4. See the truth, 5. Body card, 6. Family, 7. One room (one kind), 8. Pre flow direction, 9. Pre flow result, 10. One direction, 11. One result, 12. Do not return the direction, 13. Do not return the result, 14. Medium nirvana, 15. Life like nirvana, 16. Have line like nirvana, 17. Have no line like nirvana, 18. What is the upper class color.

Nine no learning: 1. Retreat phase, 2. Keep phase, 3. Death phase, 4. Live phase, 5. Advance phase, 6. Not bad phase, 7. Not retreat phase, 8. Wisdom liberation phase, 9. All liberation phase.

Twenty one

It means ten places, ten paramita and Buddha fruit. " The introduction of "fifty-four" in ten places and "disciple beads" in "ten parami" will not be repeated here. The 'Buddha fruit' refers to the fruit position of reaching the ultimate Buddha.


Commonly known as the 'eighteen sons', the so-called' eighteen 'refers to the' eighteen realms', that is, six roots, six dust and six knowledge.

Six: 1. Eye, 2. Ear, 3. Nose, 4. Tongue, 5. Body, 6. Mind;

Six dust: 1. Color dust, 2. Sound dust, 3. Fragrance dust, 4. Taste dust, 5. Touch dust, 6. Method dust;

Six senses: 1. Eye awareness, 2. Ear awareness, 3. Nose awareness, 4. Tongue awareness, 5. Body awareness, 6. Consciousness.


It means that Guanyin Bodhisattva shares the same compassion and admiration with all sentient beings such as Shifang, III and liudao, so that all sentient beings can obtain 14 fearless virtues.